Friday, August 12, 2011

Technology Overload

I'm starting to panic over things I love disappearing. I have a one year old who will never know what it was like to do so many things I've known and cherished. Schools are no longer teaching cursive handwriting! That just pisses me off to no end because it's beyond stupidity. People are becoming totally dependent on technology and don't posses basic knowledge of important things like how to write a letter, how to look up research information in a library rather than just looking on the Internet. Sometimes I feel we're losing a bit of our humanity and that's not good. It's important to have a balance of high tech and low tech in every way. This may seem hypocritical since I'm blogging it but I'm only doing this to preserve some thoughts. My journals were stolen. I had kept them for decades for my kids if they wanted them and for me to look back on my life.
 
One of the things I really enjoy is doing genealogy and the old census rolls because the script writing is beautiful. My teenager has beautiful writing but he hates to write and prefers a keyboard to a pencil any day. Getting him to write anything down on paper is a battle of wills. Homework is a battlefield and this has been going on since kindergarten. Don't get me started on spelling. I am livid about the amount of illiterate people on FB & other sites who don't know how to express themselves in writing. It's appalling.
 
I love to write and I think writing with pen and paper helps me organize my thoughts better than typing on a computer. I remember before computers when typing on a typewriter at work was a chore, especially if your job didn't provide one w/correction on it. I miss typewriters and still have one. I want more. It disturbs me more than a little that my child is not interested in writing anymore. I had hoped he would keep a journal so he could enjoy it when he was older and save it for his kids. ADHD is a factor but I also have it and had to adapt and had no choice when I was a kid. Hell, they didn't even have a name for it then. People just loaded me up with sugar and accused me of being hyper or a smart ass.

Are we all raising a bunch of high tech brats who don't know how to relate to people? I hope not but that's how I'm feeling lately. Rather than playing guitar as I have suggested for years, my kid mastered Guitar Hero in about two days. Now he wants to play guitar for more of a challenge. The kid has been using a computer since he was about two years old. I encouraged it then teachers bitched when he "monopolized the class computer". Don't get me started on the school system and it's dumbed down mediocrity. Let's just say I'm not upset over any teachers losing their jobs. When I taught school I never worked with more lazy, apathetic people than school teachers and they ALL hated kids but me! You won't find a more toxic snake pit than a teacher's lounge in any American school. You don't have to have a degree to teach now and look at how many teachers are sleeping with their students. I'm profoundly disgusted. Check out how teacher's unions protect bad teachers.
 
Look at books. I love books, I love to read and there's nothing like sitting down and reading a book on a rainy day. The same thing goes for reading a book at the beach or by the pool. E-books are taking over and that makes me melancholy. I have some electronic books but I don't read them. I got them in case I was stuck somewhere without a book.

My child has NEVER SEEN OR OPERATED A ROTARY DIAL TELEPHONE!!! HE HAS NEVER SEEN OR OWNED A BLACK AND WHITE TV OR A TV WITHOUT A REMOTE CONTROL! When I was a kid I WAS the remote control! He has never known the frustration and simplicity of no cable and only 5 channels on TV. Cartoons only came on TV Saturday mornings and Sunday morning there was church, wrestling or Tarzan movies. Limited technology really changes your perception of the world for good and bad depending on the person. 







    follow me on Twitter
    Movie Madness

    Sunday, July 24, 2011

    R.I.P. Amy Winehouse

      After midnight I learned about the untimely death of songbird Amy Winehouse. I was a huge fan of hers and hoped that she would kick her drug addiction and provide the soundtrack to my life for decades to come. I was thinking how sad it is that one day after she was found dead that E! preempted the Kardashians to show the E! True Hollywood Story of Amy Winehouse. Like it really pains them to preempt this show full of no talent bimbos for someone truly talented. I watch the Kardashian shows mostly to mock them.

      I'm not impressed by entertainers of any sort and mostly relegate them to court jesters to entertain me. The first time I heard rehab I was blown away. The song was totally addictive. I thought she was black before I saw her and I loved her voice. So original and her voice is one of those that makes you wish you could sing like she did. She was both retro and cutting edge rolled into one. Such an attractive combo. I guess she was having problems before fame reared it's ugly head. Nobody gives her credit for being a singer-songwriter. She became a joke which is bullshit. People love to pick apart someone who is talented and rip them to shreds. Think about how you would like some asshole w/a camera following you around documenting your downward spiral to death?

      I just know that "Fade to Black" was my soundtrack when I lived in Vegas and "You know I'm no good" was on repeat for about 3-1/2 years much to the chagrin of family and friends. My teenage son hid the CD from me and he was in cahoots with my husband on that score. It miraculously reemerged when his xbox live was deactivated. Funny how that works.

      Today I'm listening to her music and thinking about her life and all the things she could have accomplished had she beaten her drug addiction. It makes my heart hurt. It's the same sadness I feel when listening to Jimi Hendrix, Elvis Presley, Jim Morrison and Janis Joplin. Twenty Seven is such a tender age and you still have your whole life ahead of you. At twenty-seven I had my first baby. I was still full of piss and vinegar and thought I would conquer the world. I wonder if she would have lived longer had she not become famous at such a young age. I wonder a million different things that I will never get any answers to and that saddens me.

      follow me on Twitter

        follow me on Twitter
        Movie Madness

        Friday, July 22, 2011

        Hippie liberal Momma: Ron Paul's Brain Is a Dirty Diaper

        Hippie liberal Momma: Ron Paul's Brain Is a Dirty Diaper: "It's not always full of shit, but it stinks and nothing has came out of it that made me want to vote for him. Yesterday I went to go hou..."

          follow me on Twitter
            follow me on Twitter
            Movie Madness

            Hippie liberal Momma: TX New Sonogram Bill

            Hippie liberal Momma: TX New Sonogram Bill: "Today Rick Perry signed into Law the new sonogram bill. A lot of people have been asking questions about this so I thought I would post a gr..."

              follow me on Twitter
                follow me on Twitter
                Movie Madness

                Hippie liberal Momma: Boobies through time!

                Hippie liberal Momma: Boobies through time!

                  follow me on Twitter
                    follow me on Twitter
                    Movie Madness

                    Hippie liberal Momma: Woman removed from history or San Jacinto day.

                    Hippie liberal Momma: Woman removed from history or San Jacinto day.: "I am pissed. I know shocker huh? Anyways Today is San Jacinto day here in TX. The battle everyone is so proud of where Texas ran screaming..."

                      follow me on Twitter
                        follow me on Twitter
                        Movie Madness

                        Hippie liberal Momma: Before You Talk About Old White Men

                        Hippie liberal Momma: Before You Talk About Old White Men: "Before you talk about about old white men remember ALL racism is nasty and hurtful. ALL sexism is nasty and hurtful. ALL ageism is nasty an..."

                          follow me on Twitter
                            follow me on Twitter
                            Movie Madness

                            Popular Posts